5 OF MY AUTO-BUY AUTHORS

I’ve been really enjoying writing this segment lately, so I thought why not write another one! Let’s face it we all have auto-buy or auto-read authors, I don’t have too many so I thought this would be the perfect way to talk about them.

01 Marissa Meyer

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1) Heartless Wires and Nerve, Volume 1 (Wires and Nerves, #1)

I loved The Lunar Chronicles when I read it a couple of years ago, and since then I have read Heartless also by her. I did prefer TLC to her standalone take on an Alice in Wonderland prequel. Her graphic novel, Wires and Nerve came out earlier this year but my library doesn’t have it yet, but as soon as it comes in I will be reading it stat!

02 Rick Riordan

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1) The Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, #1) The Red Pyramid (Kane Chronicles, #1)

Out of the books pictured above, I have only actually read one. That sounds bad considering Riordan is a an auto-buy for me but honestly I  just haven’t got to them o in the case of The Red Pyramid, I’m just not sure I’m interested anymore. However, in the case of Magnus Chase, I am really excited to read it, I just haven’t been in the mood to pick it up.

03 Brandon Sanderson

The Final Empire (Mistborn, #1) Elantris The Way of Kings (The Stormlight Archive, #1)

Ahh yes, Brandon Sanderson, the man who is quite possibly my favourite author. I have only read his Mistborn trilogy and his Steelheart trilogy but I am definitely going to be reading some more of his works later on in the year. I love his books but I get slightly concerned when out of his available series, most of them only have one of two books out and for example The Stormlight Archive series (a 10 book series) only has two books out and the new instalments come out every 2 or 3 years. It’s going to take years to get through the books!

04 Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda The Upside of Unrequited

Last year I read Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda and loved it! I have hears nothing but good things about her new book The Upside of Unrequited, her books are all rather diverse so I am really excited to get into it. I loved her debut so much that in my mind I feel like I’ll probably enjoy anything she writes.

05 J. K. Rowling

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (Harry Potter, #1) The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike, #1)

This might be the first author on the list whos books I’ve pictured are actually shown, I’ve read the entire Harry Potter series many, many times, I’ve also read the books that are out in the Cormoran Strike series. I love them both very much and cannot wait to re-read them again in the future. As for Fantastic Beasts, I read it after I saw the film for the first time and I will probably re-read it next year before I see Fantastic Beasts 2.

SCHEDULED ON 08/04/2017

Who are your auto-buy authors? 

SOCIAL MEDIAS

Goodreads — Books Amino — Instagram — Twitter

13 thoughts on “5 OF MY AUTO-BUY AUTHORS

  1. I’ve never read anything by Brandon Sanderson but I’ve heard amazing things about his books. Is there a specific series or book of his that you would recommend starting with?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I started with the Mistborn trilogy, which I love, so I would recommend starting with that or one of his standalones like Warbreaker or Elantris if you want to see if you like his writing and don’t want to start a series. But, if you are more comfortable with starting with YA beause you’re unfamiiar with his works you could start with his Reckoners trilogy.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with so many of these! J.K. Rowling, Marissa Meyer, and Rick Riordan are on mine as well! I also have John Green, SJM, Marie Lu, Gillian Flynn, and Adam Silvera on my list, to name a few! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s so true, Gillian Flynn would have been on my list but it was only my top 5 😢. I would love to have added Adam Silvera, but unfortunately I haven’t actually read any of his books yet, though I think I’ll start with They Both Die At The End.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I have The Way of Kings, The Final Empire, Steelheart, and The Rithmatist on my TBR! So a lot of them haha I just need to get to one of them!
        I only read Cinder but wasn’t impressed but have heard the series gets better. I figured after Heartless I should give her books another go!

        Liked by 1 person

        • I’ve only read The Mistborn trilogy and the Steelheart trilogy by Brandon Sanderson. Depending on whether or not you’re in the mood for YA or Adult, if you want to read more YA you should give Steelheart a go, but if you’re looking for some crazy worldbuilding and more adult lit you should DEFINITELY read Mistborn.
          I recently re-read Cinder so I totally understand why you weren’t blown away, and I have to say book 2 is my least favourite in the series (that being said, for some people it’s their favourite) but books 3 and 4 are some of my favourite books in a series ever, so I urge you to give it a shot. If you find you’re not feeling like picking up the series I definitely recommend the audiobooks.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

