If You Disliked This… Book Tag

I really like the idea of this tag, basically what I’m going to do is talk about the traits that I didn’t like in one book or series and recommend another book from that, this way you might find a book similar, that you enjoy. Here’s the original tag! X

ifyoudisliked

A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird, #1)

PROS

  • Really inventive plot

CONS

  • Vomit-inducing romance
  • Painfully obvious plot twists
  • Annoying main character

youmightlike

The Rig (The Rig, #1)

I really disliked the Firebird trilogy but I know that I am in the minority. So if by some crazy chance any of you guys didn’t like the trilogy, you might like The Rig by Joe Ducie.

  • Unique friend group
  • interesting plot
  • No love triangle

ifyoudisliked

Looking for Alibrandi

PROS

  • Set in Australia
  • Diverse main character

CONS

  • Annoying and unappreciative main character
  • Not so great family communication

youmightlike

Henry Hoey Hobson

So the main reason I recommend this is because Henry Hoey Hobson is also set in Australia. actually, it’s set right down the road from where I live which excites me to no end. HHH is one of my favourite books, I’ve probably read it 20 times since it came out back in 2010. It’s very much a family story like Looking For Alibrandi but personally, I much prefer the main character.

  • Set in Aus
  • Good family communication
  • Awesome neighbours
  • Realistic single parent familial situation

ifyoudisliked

Finnikin of the Rock (Lumatere Chronicles, #1)

PROS

  • There are literally none, I hated this book so much ohmygod

CONS

  • The whole book
  • If you want overbearing romance and little to no plot this is your book.

youmightlike

Mistborn (Mistborn, #1)

The Final Empire, unlike some books *glares at picture of FOTR* is an amazing piece of literature that should be remembered for centuries.

  • There is a plot and it is amazing
  • Really great cast of characters
  • Brandon Sanderson is actually a god?
  • Also High Fantasy
  • So quotable, it’s ridiculous

ifyoudisliked

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1)

PROS

  • Really awesome format
  • Quotable

CONS

  • Boring plot
  • Unbelievable romance
  • Seriously boring as bat shit

youmightlike

Sleeping Giants (Themis Files, #1)

If you haven’t heard of this book, what have you been doing? Sleeping Giants reminds me of a sort of clash of The Iron Giant and the Atlantis films.

  • Original and Unique plot
  • The same format as Illuminae
  • Different characters (personality wise)
  • Really good audiobook

SOCIAL MEDIAS

Goodreads — Books Amino — Instagram — Twitter

8 thoughts on “If You Disliked This… Book Tag

    • Thank you! I really value honesty in people, especially in bloggers as I can’t actually see their faces. So, I figure I should practice what I preach. Also, giving your honest opinion is just healthier! 😍

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I also disliked A Thousand Pieces of You! You are not alone! The cover is gorgeous and the premise is great but..it definitely did not meet my expectations.

    I totally agree with the Mistborn recommendation. Sanderson is one of my favorite authors.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad i’m not the only one who didn’t like ATPOU!I was really excited to read it but it totally let me down!

      Sanderson is definitely one of my top 3 authors if not my favourite author!

      Like

    • That’s what I love about this tag – you can try and recommend books based off faults you found in previous ones!

      I do hope you give The Rig a go or add
      it to your TBR, I really enjoyed it! 😍

      Like

Leave a Reply

