T5W: Favourite First Sentences

August 17th: Favourite First Sentences

01 “Mr. and Mrs. Dursley, of number four, Privet Drive, were proud to say that they were perfectly normal, thank you very much.” (Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone)

This is a sentence that never fails to bring a smile to my face.

02 “It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.” (Pride and Prejudice)

Let’s be real, most of the sentences on the list bring a smile to my face.

03 “Sometimes, I worry that I’m not the hero everyone thinks I am.” (The Final Empire)

I love this book and honestly this, like all of the other books o this list just brings a massive smile to my face. The nostalgia is real!

04 “Look, I didn’t want to be a half-blood.” (The Lightning Thief)

Of course this is on the list.

05 “Blue Sargent had forgotten how many times she’d been told that she would kill her true love.” (The Raven Boys)

I. JUST. HAVE. SOO. MANY. FEELINGS.

If you’ve read this series then you understand.

3 thoughts on “T5W: Favourite First Sentences

  1. Aah The Raven Boys – such a good first line… well, such a good book/series! 😛

    Harry Potter and Pride and Prejudice made it onto my list too – I’m so happy to see they’re such popular choices, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

